view cart menu separator categories menu separator faq
advanced search
categories  > Used Vinyl (LPs) (492)
Martha reeves & the Vandellas - Black Magic (LP)

Martha reeves & the Vandellas - Black Magic (LP)

Price: $24.00 currently not available     
Feedback: 73.68%, 32 sales Ask seller a question
Shipping: US-Mainland: $5.00 (more destinations)
Condition: Used
Payment Options: Money Order, Cashier's Check, Cash On delivery, Personal Check,
*The store has not been updated recently. You may want to contact the merchant to confirm the availability of the product.
Genre: soul
Rating: **** (4 stars)
Title:  Black Magic
Company: Gordy
Catalog: G-958L
Year: 1972
Country/States: US
Grade (cover/record): VG / VG+
Comments: cut lower left corner; minor ring wear
Available: 1
Catalog ID: 6179
Price: $24.00

The final studio credited to Martha Reeves and the Vandellas, 1972's "Black Magic" tends to get ignored by critics and fans. That's unfortunate given that while far from perfect, the collection had more than its share of pleasures. Looking at the credits, Motown seems to have decided to give the group one last shot at the big time, bringing in the cream of the company's songwriting talents including Ashford & Simpson, Johnny Bristol, and The Corporation (which had written a string of hits for The Jackson Five). The downside to all this talent came in the form of an album that was all over the map in terms of genres and styles including stabs at cocktail jazz, white-bread pop, and old fashioned Motown soul. There simply wasn't much consistency here. Adding to the problems, throughout much of the collection Martha Reeves, sister Lois Reeves, and Sandra Tilley simply didn't sound very engaged by the material. It almost sounded like they realized this was the end of the road for their collaboration. Those criticisms aside, Reeves was simply too good an artist to turn in a collection without some merit.

- Opening up with some pretty harpsichord, 'No One There' was a catchy 'heartbreak' ballad that made it clear Reeves instantly recognizable voice remained in prime form. Yeah, the heavy orchestration took some of the song's urgency away, but the performance was energetic enough to survive. rating: **** stars
- Penned by the Corporation. 'Your Love Makes It Worthwhile' was a wonderful throwback to the group's original sound. Upbeat and brash, this one sounded way more 1966 than 1972. Reeves didn't handle lead vocals on this one and while I'm not sure if it was Lois Reeves, or Sandra Tilley, I will say their performance was a bit on the pitchy and shrill side. Still, it made for one of the album's best performances. rating: **** stars
- Their cover of George Harrison's 'Something' was one of the album's low points. Motown had an irritating habit of forcing its artists to record MOR covers of pop and rock hits and this string smothered version was one of the lamest songs in The Vandellas catalog. Very Las Vegas showroom and simply horrible ... rating: * star
- I'm not sure why, but the ballad 'Benjamin' has always reminded me of something Lul, or Barbara Streisand might have recorded. Apparently meant to have that 'sophisticated' pop sound, the results were simply lame. rating: * star
- Thankfully Ashford and Simpson's 'Tear It On Down' (previously recorded by Marvin Gaye), returned Reeves and company to a soul footing. With Reeves finally finding something she could sink her teeth into, this track momentarily recaptured some of the group's former energy. Released as a single, it should have been a massive hit for the group, but didn't even hit the top-100 pop charts. rating: **** stars
- Opening with some nice fuzz guitar, 'I've Given You the Best Years of My Life' was another track that harkened back to their initial successes. Very old school Motown and the better for it. rating: **** stars
- I remember the first time I hard 'Bless You' I thought it was a late-inning Diana Ross and the Supremes tune. By the way that wasn't meant as a criticism. Musically, with it's weird hybrid of soul and pop orchestration this was another track that sounded more 1968 than 1972. Easy to see why it was pulled as a single, through it's a little too MOR for my taste. rating; *** stars
- While nice, their cover of 'I Want You Back' won't make you forget the Jackson Five version. The main problem with this one was that the fussy arrangement managed to stray from the song's amazing melody. Even the instantly recognizable refrain lost traction in this arrangement. rating: *** stars
- Credit Reeves with salvaging 'In and Out of Love with one of her best vocals. rating: **** stars
- Motown artists and Bacharach-David covers are normally losing causes and that was the case for 'Anyone Who Had a Heart'. This was another track that would have been far better had the arrangement been paired way back. As it was, this one also sounded too Las Vegas showroom for its own good. That said, the electric sitar was a cool touch. rating: ** stars
- With Reeves at her raspy, don't mess-with-me best, 'Hope I Don't Get My Heart Broke'' was my pick for standout performance. What a voice she had. Shame Motown didn't replace some of the more conventional pop tracks with more stuff in this vein. rating: **** stars

On a statistical basis this one comes up pretty good - six tracks with four stars; two with three stars and the remainder two or one stars. Still, had Motown ditched a couple of the MOR covers, this would have stood as one of their classic performances and saved their careers.

Three singles were pulled off the album:

- 1971's 'Bless You' b/w 'Hope I Don't Get My Heart Broke' (Gordy catalog number G 7110F) - 1971's 'In and Out of My Life' b/w 'Your Love Makes It All Worthwhile' (Gordy catalog number G 7113F) # 102 pop; # 22 R&B)
- 1972's 'Tear It On Down' b/w 'I Want You Back' (Gordy catalog number G 7118F) # 103 pop; # 37 R&B)
- 1972's 'Tear It On Down' b/w 'Benjamin' (Gordy catalog number G 7118F) # 103 pop; # 37 R&B) alternate 'B' side
In spite of the success the singles enjoyed on the R&B charts, the parent album failed to chart.

"Black Magic" track listing:
(side 1)
1.) No One There (Johnny Bristol - J. Goga - A. Minor - P. Green) - 3:32
2.) Your Love Makes It Worthwhile (The Corporation) - 3:24
3.) Something (George Harrison) - 2:41
4.) Benjamin (N. Zesses - Dino Fekaris) - 3:29
5.) Tear It On Down (Nickolas Ashford - Valerie Simpson) - 3:37
6.) I've Given You the Best Years of My Life (N. Zesses - Dino Fekaris - J. Goga) - 2:58

(side 2)
1.) Bless You (The Corporation) - 2:58
2.) I Want You Back (The Corporation) - 2:50
3.) In and Out of My Life (G. Gordy - L. Brown) - 2:56
4.) Anyone Who Had a Heart (Hal David - Burt Bacharach) - 3:57
5.) Hope I Don't Get My Heart Broke (A. Story - H. Gordy - L, Brown) - 3:41

One last non-LP single for Gordy and it was over for the group:

- 1973's "Baby Don't Leave Me' b/w 'I Won't Be the fool I've Been Again' (Gordy catalog number G 7127F).
Other Products from badcatrecords:View all products
Audience - Lunch (LP)
Caravan - Girls Who Grow Plump In the Night (LP)
Staple Singers - The Staple Swingers
Public Foot the Roman - Public Foot the Roman (LP)
Chris Robison - and His Many hand Band
Act of Creation - Act of Creation (LP)
Bealtes - Happy Michaelmas (LP)
Bee Gees - Odessa
American Standard - American Standard
Equipe - Stereoequipe
Last Updated: 21 Jan 2015 16:42:51 PST home  |  about  |  terms  |  contact
Powered by eCRATER - a free online store builder